NFL Wire News

Rodgers, Cutler among Man of the Year nominees


Star quarterbacks Aaron Rodgers, Russell Wilson, Philip Rivers, Matt Ryan and Jay Cutler are among the 2014 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award nominees.

All 32 teams selected their man of the year, qualifying them as finalists for the honor presented at Super Bowl XLIX at the NFL Honors show on Jan. 31.

Players are chosen based on their commitment to philanthropy and community impact. Three nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for the legendary Bears running back who died in 1999.

Finalists will be announced next month.

The 32 team nominees receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to the charity of their choice. The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation, and the

winner will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name.

“We admire and support the important work that these players and so many other NFL players are doing to serve their communities,” commissioner Roger Goodell said. “The NFL is filled with outstanding young men who help schools, shelters, and countless other organizations and good causes. We thank our players for recognizing the positive impact they can have in the lives of their fellow citizens and seizing that opportunity to make difference.”

A list of the 32 team nominees:

Arizona Cardinals, Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons, Matt Bryant

Baltimore Ravens, Torrey Smith

Buffalo Bills, Fred Jackson

Carolina Panthers, Thomas Davis

Chicago Bears, Jay Cutler

Cincinnati Bengals, Vincent Rey

Cleveland Browns, Craig Robertson

Dallas Cowboys, DeMarco Murray

Denver Broncos, Ben Garland

Detroit Lions, Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers, Aaron Rodgers

Houston Texans, Andre Johnson

Indianapolis Colts, Pat McAfee

Jacksonville Jaguars, Josh Scobee

Kansas City Chiefs, Tamba Hali

Miami Dolphins, Olivier Vernon

Minnesota Vikings, Chad Greenway

New England Patriots, Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints, Thomas Morstead

New York Giants, Steve Weatherford

New York Jets, Muhammad Wilkerson

Oakland Raiders, Marcel Reece

Philadelphia Eagles, Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers, William Gay

San Diego Chargers, Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers, Anquan Boldin

Seattle Seahawks, Russell Wilson

St. Louis Rams, Johnny Hekker

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Vincent Jackson

Tennessee Titans, Jason McCourty

Washington Redskins, Darrel Young

About The Sports Xchange


Since 1987, the Sports Xchange has been the best source of information and analysis for the top professionals in the sports publishing & information business