NFL Official: Roughing Penalty on 49ers Was Incorrect


Jim Harbaugh was irate on the sidelines following a pivotal roughing the passer penalty in Sunday’s 17-7 loss to the Seattle Seahawks.

The penalty helped set up the Seahawks’ final touchdown score and eliminate the 49ers from the playoffs.

Speaking on NFL Network’s NFL AM Dean Blandino, the NFL’s vice president of officiating, said referees got the call wrong.

“In looking at it, it was not (the correct call),” Blandino said. “The rule protects a passer from two types of hits: Hits to the head or neck, or hits with the crown or forehead, which is just below the crown part of the helmet, and that’s what the referee called. It’s close, but when you look at it on tape, (49ers linebacker Nick) Moody’s head is up, he hits with more of the side and the facemask to the body of the quarterback, and in our review, with the ability to look at it in slow motion, it’s not a foul.”

via Kevin Patra of NFL.com

About Football Insiders


The next evolution of football news, information and rumors.