Cam Newton Regrets Unsportsmanlike Penalty


There wasn’t much for reigning MVP Cam Newton to regret Monday night, as his Panthers defeated the Redskins 26-15. However, there was one incident Newton wishes he could have back. As Newton was scrambling towards the sideline, Trent Murphy made helmet-to-helmet contact, which wasn’t called.

After the hit, Newton threw the ball at Murphy and it resulted in a 15-yard penalty.

“I’ve got to be better than that,” Newton said. “That just can’t happen on my part. I just have to let the referees do their job, and obviously, it was a questionable hit, but I can’t throw the ball at a person. That’s against the rules too.”

Luckily this penalty didn’t come back to haunt Carolina.

The Panthers will end their season with division games against the Falcons and Buccaneers.

Source: ESPN

About Mark Gunnels

Mark Gunnels

Mark Gunnels is an NFL columnist for Football Insiders. He has several years of experience covering the NFL and NCAA football. He's the radio color commentator for Lincoln University football. Mark's work has been featured on Sports Illustrated, Fox Sports and Yard Barker.