Kansas City Chiefs Mount Rushmore


The Kansas City Chiefs are a very well respected organization for various of reasons. When it comes to class, there isn’t too many franchises who display it better than the Chiefs.

Although the Chiefs only have one lone Super Bowl title, which came in 1970, there’s been a plethora of great players to rock the red and gold over the years.

However, today we’re focusing on the Chiefs “Mount Rushmore,” so there’s only room for four guys.

Let’s take a look at who they are.

Tony Gonzalez – This one was a no brainer.

Not only is Tony Gonzalez is the best tight end in Chiefs history, he’s arguably the best tight end to ever play the game. While there were other elite pass catching tight ends such as Shannon Sharpe, Kellen Winslow, Sr. and Antonio Gates, none of them were as impactful as Gonzalez.

During his 12 seasons in Kansas City, Gonzalez crushed the Chiefs team records for receptions (916), yards (10,940) and touchdowns (76).

As we know, Gonzalez had plenty of great moments in Kansas City, but some stood out more than others.

“When I was able to break the tight end touchdown record,” Gonzalez stated. “We did it here at Arrowhead Stadium against the Cincinnati Bengals back in 2007. I needed one to tie and two to break the record. I was able to do that in the middle of a season that we weren’t very good. We won four games that year, but we won that particular game.

“My whole family was here, so that was special for me.”

It’s normal to see tight ends catch passes like receivers now, but we must remember that Gonzalez was the first to transcend the position to new heights.

Derrick Thomas – Of course the most impactful defensive player in Chiefs history had to make the list.

The former fourth-overall pick of the 1989 NFL Draft was one of the best pass rushers the game has ever seen.

Don’t believe me?

Well, how about if I told you Thomas once totaled seven sacks in one game against the Seattle Seahawks in 1990. To this day, that record still holds.

Throughout his 11-year career, Thomas reached the Pro Bowl nine times with seven seasons of double-digit sacks.

For over 20 years, Thomas held the franchise record for 20 sacks in a season, but Justin Houston recently broke that record with 22 sacks in 2014.

Will Shields – When talking about a model of consistency, there should be a picture of offensive lineman Will Shields.

Shields spent his entire 14-year career in Kansas City and he didn’t miss a single game. Oh yeah, he was also selected to appear in 12 consecutive Pro Bowls from 1995 to 2006.

The Hall of Famer blocked for the likes of Marcus Allen, Priest Holmes and Larry Johnson during his illustrious career.

Shields had a successful collegiate career at the University of Nebraska, but no one figured he would be the best lineman in Chiefs history.

Len Dawson – It wouldn’t be right if I didn’t add the quarterback responsible for Kansas City’s lone Super Bowl championship.

Before the AFL and NFL merged, Dawson was a two-time AFL All-Star and after the merger, he added four more all-star appearances to the resume.

Dawson was a three-time AFL Champion and he was the MVP of Super Bowl IV against the Minnesota Vikings.

About Mark Gunnels

Mark Gunnels

Mark Gunnels is an NFL columnist for Football Insiders. He has several years of experience covering the NFL and NCAA football. He's the radio color commentator for Lincoln University football. Mark's work has been featured on Sports Illustrated, Fox Sports and Yard Barker.